Roadblocks all the Way

I don’t have any relevant images, so here’s a sketch of a fish I found on Google.

So, I’ve been running into a few hurdles lately with Turtles all the Way: A Shell Game, so I felt I may as well share my current problems. There are three big ones.

First and foremost, I cannot come up with a description that describes the game and its story without either giving out massive spoilers, being extremely misleading, or nor really giving out any compelling explanations at all. Of course, people tend to read descriptions before committing hard drive space and money for games, at least until it gets enough word of mouth for people to blind-buy. Without a good one, I haven’t the slightest clue as to what I should do for the game’s end publicity. How am I supposed to pitch it?

Secondly, I haven’t been able to come up with a suitable name for the team working on it. Well, I had an idea,  but it infringes on an existing trademark, and it was long and hard to spell, so it was no good. Anything made after Turtles all the Way: A Shell Game would carry that name, and it needs to be short and sweet, as well as evocative, relevant and easy to understand, but I’ve failed to come up with one. Of course, I went and made an obligatory check to see if anyone tried Epic Games already when I first tried answering this issue, only to find that there was a developer called Epic Games that was initially known as Epic MegaGames before making a big hit and shortening their name. OF COURSE. XD

In my opinion, Compile Heart is probably one of the best-made names I’ve come across for a game developer. I can only hope I can come up with one that flows well, too.

Thirdly, I have no idea how much I’ll need to commission 3D art for my game. There’s also no way for me to know, since I can’t find any places where I can get estimates, and I need a lot of 3D models. I have a feeling that a few thousand won’t be enough, and I won’t be able to get any help from the Kickstarter fad without screenshots or a gameplay video, which is impossible without getting a 3D modeler on board anyway. Ugh. I know I’ll have to work over the summer to save up the amount, but I have no idea how much “the amount” is. Quite the conundrum.

If you have any suggestions for solving these problems, I’d love to hear from you. The comment button is right there.

4 thoughts on “Roadblocks all the Way

    • The annoying thing is that I’d get sued by the multinational oil company known as “Shell” for making a name that sounds like a subsidiary of they’re company when I’m not. Stuff like that really restricts my choices. :/

      Also, nice to see you liked the pic. XD

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

