Why All Current Consoles Are Sh!t To Develop For As An Indie (Intro)

As you may or may not be aware, I recently spoke about the potential platforms for Turtles all the Way and essentially ended up saying that it would be a PC/Mac deal. I glossed over the reasons why the current consoles are all terrible targets, but I figured I should probably elaborate on my reasoning now. One console at a time. And, just for completion’s sake, I’ll include why smartphones and tablets are no good, as well as why PC/Mac/Linux isn’t a walk in the park either.

All of this information is, of course, second-hand. That said, I’m not naive enough to NOT look for second-hand data, and neither should anyone else. I did my research.

I suppose I should randomize these and split it into individual articles, or it would be a behemoth, huh? Well, let’s toss these in…

The list items I’ll be using are these:

  • PC/Mac/Linux
  • Smartphones and Tablets
  • Nintendo 3DS/Nintendo Wii
  • PlayStation 3/PlayStation Vita
  • Xbox 360

I know I said “one system at a time”, but I don’t have enough on the 3DS and Vita to devote a full article on. Now, to toss ’em into a good ol’ randomizer

OK, I’m not even lying, but that gave me this:

  • Xbox 360
  • PlayStation 3/PlayStation Vita
  • Nintendo 3DS/Nintendo Wii
  • Smartphones and Tablets
  • PC/Mac/Linux

Yes, my initial list, backwards. Works rather perfectly for my purposes, really.

OK, I’ll be posting these up for five days, each of those five, and explain my reasoning.

Look forward to it, guys. Tomorrow, I’ll start with the 360.

Table of contents can be found here.

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

