Game Over all the Way

Turtles all the Way has the NinPiZoRo heal you when you die, taking money in exchange. That’s all well and good, but what happens when you don’t have enough money?

That’s a question that’s been bothering me for a while now. I can’t have nothing happen when you die without enough money, or the game would be unloseable, and therefore become as boring as Kirby’s Epic Yarn became after a while.

So, after I got thinking, it’s obvious that I should give the player a game over at that point, but a simple game over would be boring.

Perhaps I should have whatever enemy killed you go through a Level Clear screen, commenting about how much you suck? I thought of that, thought it might be just plain mean, but then a friend pointed out that some fighting games do their version of that already.

Fair enough, but then that makes it a bit boring, so I thought I’d have the end credits play immediately afterward, sending the player back to the title screen. You may think that’s a bit long-winded, but the bad ending song that will play during those credits is quite short (and the musician that composed it returned to the project, albeit on indefinite hiatus, so I can show it):

Not to mention that, as an indie game team, we wouldn’t have too many people. I mean, the current team is just 4 people. That’ll increase by the end of the project, but I’m sure I can fit the end credits into the one minute the song takes to play.

Speaking of that song, it’s a piano remix of the opening theme, “Soaring Wind“. If the player loses against the bonus boss (me), then my theme song, in a capella form, will play instead:

This is all well and good, but then I noticed another problem. You’re controlling two players at once – what if only one dies when you lack funds?

My solution was simple, really. I can’t have the character stay dead where they are and respawn as soon as you have the money, but why not have NinPiZoRo take the character, and return them near you, healed, when you get enough money? After they take the funds, of course.

Meanwhile, your Sync Points are still taking a massive hit from not switching, so you have to make sure to raise those funds quickly, or they’ll end up being -100%. It isn’t too bright to let it get that low, since I currently have the calculations for stats being:

Base Stat * (Current SP + 100%) * Remaining Stamina * 1000

1000 is added to the total if it’s the Efficiency stat, which determines the speed your stamina is restored. The stat cap is 30000 for all stats but Efficiency, which has a cap of 31000.

Needless to say, having a low SP total would leave you defenceless and prone to instant death from the first attack that hits, and you’re in no position to dodge.

Yes, as I’ve said in the past, this will not be an easy game.

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

