Laptop Swap

Today, I went to my university for this year’s laptop refresh. Since I’m entering third year, they gave me a new laptop instead of formatting the old one and returning it to me (which is just an annoyance). In the process, they upgraded me from a Lenovo T410 to a Lenovo T520. A lot of things about the two are the same, but the key differences are going from 14.1″ to 15.6″, 800p to 900p, and 32-bit to 64-bit.

That last one turned out to be annoying. While the extra power is nice (I don’t have to disable my antivirus to run Steam and Unity anymore), the two Visual Novels I was playing through, G-Senjou no Maou (The Devil on G-string) and Sharin no Kuni, Himawari no Shōjo (Wheel Country, Sunflower Girl) refuse to, for the former, install properly, and for the latter, run correctly even with AppLocale set with it to run as Japanese.

Why must  there be compatability issues? How annoying. So far, every other program I’ve tried seems to run at least decently on 64-bit, but I should probably try the rest of them now that this issue has come up, right?

Nothing else I can do but dive right in, I suppose.

For those confused, UOIT gives their students laptops and swaps them out every two years, letting them pay $1 to keep them at the end of their program, if they want.

UPDATE: About ten minutes after posting this, I finally got both VNs working perfectly. See, complaining out loud always works when not asking for something unrealistic.

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

