Metroidvania all the Way

Image unrelated

I’ve been hard at work on Turtles all the Way, and now have so many things done that an actual challenge can be presented to the player. There’s still much to do, though.

In any case, I was talking to an internet friend of mine about the game, and he asked me why the game wasn’t a Metroidvania title, his logic being that quite a few things about the game, mechanic-wise, seem to mesh well with the genre. While the broad idea seemed to sound correct, looking into defining characteristics of the genre showed me things such as power-up-based progression and backtracking, both things that outright do not work with the current design, plot or world building.

However, as I said, the general idea seemed to be correct. Since I was having trouble figuring out how I’m going to design my levels anyway, I decided to go ahead and pick up the out-of-print rare title, Metroid Prime Trilogy, as well as Metroid: Other M, both the most critically-acclaimed titles of the Metroid series and the most hated title. Both titles are attempts to bring a series that’s more widely known for its 2D exploration-based side-scrollers into a 3D space. Even with all of the complaints that have been levied at Other M, level design wasn’t one of the particularly notable ones I’ve seen. Both of the games may have something to teach me about smart layouts for the levels in Turtles all the Way.

In addition, a later discussion with him led to a conversation about Ruyo, which some of you may recall as the ninja mage with the elaborate weapon and all of the transformations. He brought up a more sci-fi-like, all-in-one sort of thing for him that’s significantly more badass and practical. Funnily enough, after a few minutes of thinking, I worked out in my head that it would make perfect sense for Ruyo to grow in this manner in a potential sequel – the plot of the current title has him very much improvising after he flees from his clan, without enough time to formulate his own unique style. In the case of the planned sequel if the first game recoups its development costs would have more than enough of a time period in-between for him to grow to such a play-style.

Interesting stuff, in any case. In terms of things I’ve been doing right now, I now have 6 generic enemy types out of 14 ready, and all but one of the remaining 8 should be easy enough to implement when I next have a space of time without a term paper on the horizon. Some of them are rather interesting.

Who knows, I might go ahead and run another pre-alpha by everyone after all of the enemies, remaining attacks and knockback effects get coded in. We’ll see.

I’ve also been considering fail!drawing the cast to provide at least some visual representation of the characters. I won’t be able to do the cast justice, of course, but it’s better than the grand total of noting we have so far.

As a side-note, I’ve also started work back up on my novel, in this case writing up the outline from scratch. I’m having a hard time with the climax, and whether or not the ending should be conclusive, but that’s far less important that getting Turtles all the Way done.

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

