Winter 2013 Anime Season: What I’m Watching

OreShura Chiwa Ad PicFall 2012’s anime season is winding down to a close, and what a season it was. I’m probably gonna shove out several Under Your Radar entries all at once, to cover the good stuff from it.

On top of that, since the entire release slate for next season has already been announced, I figure it’s about time for this list. This is what I’m watching next season:

Continuing

  • Bakuman。 3
  • From the New World
  • GIRLS und PANZER (technically they simply delayed the last two episodes to the end of March instead of ending it now)
  • The Pet Girl of Sakurasou

Definite

Sequels to Series I Liked

  • Haganai NEXT
  • Nekomonogatari (Black) (this is just a 2-hour special)

Adaptations of Series I Read

  • Maoyū Maō Yūsha
  • Ore no Kanojo to Osananajimi ga Shuraba Sugiru

Maybe

  • Senran Kagura
  • Tamako Market
  • Vividred Operation

That’s only 6-9 regular shows. And I’ll be honest, it’ll probably stabilize at around 7, maybe 8. Winter 2013 is really setting itself up as a complete disappointment – most of the anime this time around are really terrible looking, or shorts. I really had to scrape the bottom of the barrel on the Maybes. This is especially pronounced compared to last season, which gave me a huge list.

The sad thing, of course, is that Spring 2013 looks even worse so far – only two shows I consider worth looking at, and one’s the second season of Oreimo. I hope it looks better by the time Winter 2013 ends. EDIT: ~1 hour after I wrote this post, a new season of Hayate the Combat Butler was greenlit for Spring. I suppose that also counts.

As a side note, OreShura picked the perfect time to air – right after Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure got remade and right after a show about chuunibyou aired.

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

