Under Your Radar: OniAi

Radar Logo 2

OniAi Volume 1 CoverThis week’s Under Your Radar is about Onii-chan Dakedo Ai Sae Areba Kankeinai yo ne (literally It Doesn’t Matter If He’s My Brother As Long as There’s Love, Right?), a light novel series by Daisuke Suzuki that got an anime adaptation that was delaycasted by FUNimation under its shortened name, OniAi.

It’s a harem series about, as implied in the title, a girl named Akiko Himenokōji who loves her older brother Akito, despite them being related by blood. Of course, we later find out that there is no blood relation between them. She, of course, is unaware of this.

Verdict

No Face

Rightful

…What do you mean this is too short?

Ugh, fine, but I don’t have to like typing more than I have to about it. I’ll jump straight to the point, since (much like my previous Under Your Radar), this one doesn’t have much to it.

To be more specific, the story involves two siblings who spent a long time separated after their parents divorced. Akito tracked Akiko down, and now they’re living together in a dormitory, which houses the student council. The entire rest of the student council is also filled with girls who like him, who moved into that dorm to prevent the siblings from getting together, and we’re thrown into fairly generic harem genre scenarios for each of the characters without any specific explanations on anyone until late in the season – one character getting little back-story until the last episode. We never get much of an explanation on the student council president, either. They aren’t even done in a particularly interesting way.

I’ll be honest – the flashbacks to when everyone’s a kid and are just then meeting each other completely lack any harem elements aside from one scene where it’s invoked, and said flashbacks are all the better for it. But they don’t have much substance to them, much like the series surrounding it, and come way too late to redeem the series.

In addition, it-


SELF PRODUCER by Minori Chihara

Let’s all love however we want and become cute.
Every girl is a self-producer.

My common sense is in shambles. My values have become dubious.
I have no leeway, but I’m not scared. My fast heartbeat causes halation.

Is that really me that I see in the mirror? It’s so embarrassing.
I’m reborn in the middle of this world,
In which I want to hug you, (and tell you that) I love you!

Let’s all love however we want, with honest attraction.
Let’s try to seriously get our spirits high.
There are sudden developments every day (in my heart).
This throbbing won’t stop, so let’s all become cute.
My future of self-production will go better than expected.

Surprised by the opening popping up in the middle of nowhere? So was I. For this show, the opening does not, in fact, open the episode, but instead appears at a seemingly-random point in the first half of the episode.

But back to what I was saying. As should be perfectly clear from the aforementioned opening, this series is filled with too much fanservice and innuendo for its own good, sacrificing content that’s actually worth anything. And if I wanted pure fanservice, I’ll be honest, I’ve seen better. After finding out some of the stuff beneath the surface, however, they piqued my curiosity as to what exactly happened with the Himenokōji family behind the scenes, but Akito closes the anime by outright stating that it’s something he might tell the audience at some point, but will never tell Akiko.

Verdict

I was wondering why I hadn’t posted more Under Your Radar entries on stuff I don’t like, and this taught me why. A lot of things I dislike are too simplistic and/or bland for my post on it to be of the same quality as my others. OniAi is generic and boring, and you’ve seen all of this stuff already. Its only potentially interesting plotline, one we should have gotten at the very beginning, was relegated to a brief synopsis in the ending narration and used to try and push a sequel. To which I facepalm. This is a paint-by-numbers harem series.

RightfulI don’t know why I bothered watching all the way through, but I can at least tell you that it’s not worth the 5 hours of life it wakes to watch the whole thing. I might look at a sequel to see if it has any semblance of plot, but I won’t be watching if and when it doesn’t.

TOLR

3 thoughts on “Under Your Radar: OniAi

  1. Huh. You know, I’m trying to come up with something substantial to say, but I’m at a loss here. I think you’ve got this series all wrapped up. Shame there’s not much to it, but…eh. New season’s starting, so hopefully something good will come of it.

    Also, I’d make a guess as to who that spiky-haired fellow is in the teaser for next time, but if I ran through a list of names, I’d be here for a long, long time. I’m gonna take a stab in the dark and say it’s that guy from To-Love-Ru. Rito is his name, I think. I’m hazy on the series, especially given that I assume one of its leads is a pair of underpants.

    And as you likely know, stolen underpants (eventually) lead to profit. Somehow.

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

