What I’m Watching: Spring 2013 Anime Season

What I'm Watching

Date A Live ToukaIt’s time for another What I’m Watching!

The Winter 2013 season looked absolutely dreadful, but thanks to series like Problem Children and Love Live!, the season ended up being rather enjoyable. That said, MAOYU wasn’t as good in anime format as I’d hoped and Oreshura really fumbled by skipping all of Himeka’s backstory. It ended up being an OK season, but still not a good one.

So let’s see what the coming season has in store for me…

Continuing

None

Definite

Adaptations of Series I Like

  • Date A Live
  • Hayate the Combat Butler: Cuties (Hayate no Gotoku! Cuties)

Sequels to Series I Like

  • Nyarko-san: Another Crawling Chaos W (Haiyore! Nyarko-san W)
  • Oreimo 2 (Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai.)

Maybe

High Chance

  • My youth romantic comedy is wrong as I expected. (Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru)
  • The “Hentai” Prince and the Stony Cat (Hentai Ōji to Warawanai Neko)

Medium Chance

  • The Severing Crime Edge (Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge)

Low Chance

  • Absolute Defense Leviathan (Zettai Bōei Leviathan)
  • Hataraku Maou-sama
  • Mushibugyou
  • Photo Kano
  • RDG Red Data Girl

…Remember how I said last season was bad? Well, this one is shaping up to be just as poor. What a shame. There was also one show I would have put on the High Chance list, but then I found out that Gen Urobuchi is writing it. From what I’ve read though interviews and the like, the dude is completely incapable of thinking happy thoughts, so anything he writes tends to end up depressing. I really don’t like depressing stuff, so I’m steering clear.

It’s nice to see Oreimo and Nyarko again. Date A Live was also interesting when I gave a glance at the manga after hearing said manga was cancelled due to health. Interestingly enough, I’ve just found out that the Neptunia artist is the one who did the art for those novels. However, the new Hayate anime is on that list due to my sense of obligation more than anything. Chances are it’ll be nothing worthwhile, but the manga has been making off-hand references to the anime, so I sorta need to at least glance at it. Hopefully they fix the last season’s problems.

P.S. Don’t dismiss Hentai Prince due to its name and read the premise. It actually seems quite interesting.

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

