The Update That Was Overdue

The Turtle Who Had Wings Logo (Placeholder 2)

It’s been way too long since I’ve posted an update about The Turtle Who Had Wings, so I figure I may as well give a brief update as to what’s going on.

The main change I’ve made lately is the camera. It was the biggest source of fake difficulty in the entire design, so I changed how it worked to be more in line with vaguely similar games. As a result, not only did I have to change how dodging and just plain regular movement worked, because they all worked relative to the behind-the-shoulder camera.

I consider that to be a good thing in the end, though. That said, it definitely complicated a few things. The game now needs so many buttons it’s ridiculous, going as far as needing every single input available on a standard controller (so a PS4 controller, lacking Start and Select, can’t control the game without some gymnastics).

On the plus side, however, this let me make give the player more control over their dodging direction. It’s now more along the lines of the dash in Croixleur, where you move in the direction of your input and take little to no damage while doing so. Aside from the change in determining directions, though, the dodge remains the same in every way I mentioned in previous posts.

Another positive change was that I was able to then take this new camera and easily make it possible to have levels in 2.5D, which would make a nice change of pace. It certainly makes some levels easier to make, though many of them are not suitable for 2.5D.

But, as with all good things, there are bad things bundled with it. Specifically, the way I had to make targeting work with this new camera with how aiming can’t be done the same way. I ended up going with an auto-targeting system. While this is manageable for a lot of characters, it makes some characters attacks a bit too easy to use. For instance, the main character’s ranged attack, Magnetic Implosion, can never miss this way, since the attack is spawned on the location of the target.

Or, rather, I was worried. Then I remembered how strict I was stamina. Sure, it looks like you can just spam the attack all day, but doing so still leaves you with limited options despite making about two easy hits, three if you’re good.

Which makes me think… what is “depth”? My characters all have a very limited range of attack options, which would imply a very simple game, but the game is anything but simple in execution. Yet I can’t help but look at the Tales series and think that I could be doing more if I was willing to be more complex in my controls (though the series has some major limitations too – I’ll save that for another time).

It’s really something that gets to you when you make a game. But if I were to adjust the design repeatedly every time I thought that, I wouldn’t have even gotten this far.

I just hope that the massive roadblocks behind the scenes go away soon so the game can be completed.

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

