What I’m Watching: Spring 2014 Anime Season

What I'm Watching

Kanojo ga Flag Image

Definite

Continuing

  • Nisekoi: False Love

Adaptations of Series I Follow

  • Atelier Escha & Logy ~Alchemists of the Dusk Sky~ (Esuka & Rojī no Atorie ~Tasogare no Sora no Renkinjutsushi~)
  • Dragonar Academy (Seikoku no Ryū-Kishi/Seikoku no Dragonar, lit. “The Star-Marked Dragonar”)
  • Kanojo ga Flag wo Oraretara [Gaworare] (lit. “If She Were to Bend the Flag”)
  • Yu-Gi-Oh! ARC-V

Sequels to Series I Liked

  • Date A Live II
  • Hanamonogatari
  • Love Live! School Idol Project (Season 2)

Maybe

High Chance

  • Daimidaler: Prince vs. Penguin (Kenzen Robo Daimidaler, lit. “Daimidaler the Sound Robot”)
  • Hitsugi no Chaika (lit. “Chaika the Coffin Princess”)
  • No Game No Life
  • The World is Still Beautiful (Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii, lit. “Even So, The World is Beautiful”)

Medium Chance

  • Black Bullet
  • Gochūmon wa Usagi Desu ka? (lit. “Is the Order a Rabbit?”)
  • The Irregular at Magic High School (Mahōka Kōkō no Rettōsei, lit. “The Poorly-Performing Student of a Magic High School”)
  • The Kawai Complex Guide to Manors and Hostel Behavior (Bokura wa Minna Kawai-sō; lit. “We Are From Dormitory Kawai”, but can be heard as “We Are All Pitiful”)

Low Chance

  • Nanana’s Buried Treasure (Ryūgajō Nanana no Maizōkin)
  • One Week Friends (Isshūkan Friends)

This is the final anime season to start during my present university run, and I am both anticipating it and not really feeling it.

Key for me this season is the long-awaited anime adaptation of Gaworare, which I’ve been really enjoying the manga adaptation of. Furthermore, the first ever Atelier anime adaptation is set for release. While I’ve warmed up to Atelier Escha & Logy after finally playing it, the marketing was really worrying with the sweeping changes it promised. I still don’t think it’s the best choice to adapt (I still believe the Arland trilogy should’ve been picked, or even Escha & Logy‘s prequel Ayesha, followed by Escha & Logy), but its timing is excellent for Western fans – its run starts under a month after the game’s English release.

Also notable is Love Live!, which I gave a stellar review for season 1. While I find it odd that they aren’t even gonna bother smacking a “2” anywhere onto that title, I’m really curious as to how they intend to follow the previous season up, as they kinda wrote themselves into a corner. I find Nisekoi‘s choice to run for 20 episodes to be odd, but they probably intend to cover the first in-story year, so it makes sense. That also means it will be ending earlier than every other anime on this list, when everything else is on episode 7 or 8.

One thought on “What I’m Watching: Spring 2014 Anime Season

  1. I will be following Atelier Escha & Logy, No Game, No Life, and Black Bullet. I’ll be sure to come back and read your thoughts on these anime series to premiere soon.

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

