I’ve Been Writing for Siliconera Lately

I figure enough time has passed for me to say this. For obvious reasons, I can’t link back here from there unless the stars align, but nothing stops me from linking there from here.

The long and short of it is that I’ve been writing a bit for Siliconera as of late. Specifically, I’ve been doing “playtests”, which are like game reviews except I’m not allowed to make a judgement on whether or not a game is worth purchasing.

If you want to see what I’ve written for Siliconera, here’s my current list:

For the record, I don’t pick the titles for the posts, and anything I write there goes through an editor. Chances are that I will post about the games I write about for them in one of my blog columns if and when I feel the game has met my columns’ requirements and if I feel I have something to say. For example, Fairy Fencer F will be written about in Under Your Radar whenever I get around to finishing it. When that happens, I will be able to write a much more in-depth post than what I could write for Siliconera, since I have to keep brevity in mind when writing for them.

Overall, I’ve been happy with the reception I’ve been getting over there. I get one or two comments tops and a depressingly low view count on this blog for everything but the Jump ToC Rankings column. Compare that to Siliconera, where my first post got 102 comments to date. Aside from some criticism aimed at me for not playing Samurai Warriors 4 on the PS4 I don’t own, the reception to what I wrote has also been generally positive, which is nice. The need to sound professional feels stifling, but I suppose that’s what this blog is for.

For the record, no, I’m not paid for writing there.


This does not affect my post frequency here in any way, however. My posting on this blog always has been and will be based on my spare time. You get frequent posts when I have a lot of it and feel like writing, you get little when I’m busy. I’ve done a bit of work on the new Under Your Radar on Akiba’s Trip: Undead and Undressed, but not terribly much. October’s Rundown the Street is so light on news that I’m merging it with November.

On an unrelated note, as you may have noticed, I’ve been messing around with how this blog is displayed. My list of recent posts can be dreadfully non-indicative at times. Take the current page before I post this for example – it’s just the Jump ToC Rankings and you have to scroll down to find my last Under Your Radar, which I like to imagine is the main draw of the blog. So the feed of recent posts is no longer the front page of the blog – it’s been moved to a page on the navigation bar.

For similar reasons, I’m considering making a sort of “best posts” page to point people towards my best stuff and give new readers the best impression possible. The main issue being that I don’t know what my best stuff is. I have a few posts I’m fond of, like my Under Your Radar posts on Atelier Escha & LogyHyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 and Love Live!, but I draw a blank on everything else.

Speaking of the navigation bar, I’ve added a short, descriptive pop-up if you hover over each of the blog columns or projects.

Additionally, I’m actually almost ready to start lifting the veil on me discussing Battlefield of Love. I wanted to get a test build of a battle done and ready to deploy via browsers to showcase what I’m talking about before I feel like I can really start discussing it. I’m not too far from being done enough to do that. Though, of course, it will lack sound and art assets.

I suppose the last thing for me to bring up is that I’ve changed the blog’s WordPress theme. I am very limited as to how I can customize them without shelling out money (i.e. not at all), so I’m experimenting to find one that’s more visually interesting than the one I had before without breaking all of my older posts.

If you want to chime in on what some of my best posts are, feel free to speak up. A name for the page would also be nice.

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

