What I’m Watching: Summer 2015 Anime Season

What I'm Watching Symphogear GX Preview Art

Definite

Continuing

  • My Love Story!!
  • Ultimate Otaku Teacher
  • Yu-Gi-Oh! ARC-V

Adaptations (of series I like)

  • Daily Life with Monster Girl (Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou)

Sequels

  • Non Non Biyori Repeat
  • Symphogear GX (Senki Zesshō Symphogear GX)
  • To Love-Ru Darkness 2nd

Only After I Catch Up

  • Dragon Ball Super

Maybe

High Chance

  • Okusama ga Seitokaichou! (lit. “My Wife is the Student Council President!”)
  • Rokka: Braves of Six Flowers (Rokka no Yūsha)
  • Sore ga Seiyū! (lit. “That is a Voice Actor!”)

Medium Chance

  • Akagami no Shirayukihime (lit. “Red-Haired Snow White”)
  • School-Live! (Gakkō Gurashi!, lit. “Living at School!”)
  • Jōkamachi no Dandelion (lit. “Castle Town Dandelion”)
  • Kūsen Madōshi Kōhosei no Kyōkan (lit. “Aerial Combat Wizard Candidates’ Instructor”)

Low Chance

  • Classroom Crisis
  • Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri (lit. “Gate: The Self-Defense Forces Fight Like This in Another Land”)
  • Himōto! Umaru-chan
  • Prison School (Kangoku Gakuen)
  • Million Doll

It’s almost time for Dragon Ball Super to start… but I put down your pitchforks. By “catch up”, I mean I haven’t watched the movies, and they appear to be relevant to the plot here. I’m actually more hyped for Symphogear GX and Non Non Biyori Repeat. The former is sure to be badass, the latter will be calming as heck, and I’ll enjoy every minute of it… hopefully. It’s too bad that Symphogear GX is likely to go unlicensed, as with the previous season.

I only caught the first few chapters of Daily Life with Monster Girl, but that was enough to pique my interest in the anime. As for the maybes, there are some rather quirky ones there, like School-Live!, which is a slice of life anime about a high school girls’ club surviving during a zombie apocalypse.

I look forward to going through this list and systematically cutting it down to a manageable size. Given the amount of definites, however, I’m betting only a few of the maybes will live.

One thought on “What I’m Watching: Summer 2015 Anime Season

  1. Oh crap, I completely forgot that Dragon Ball Super was going to be a thing. I guess out of sheer obligation I should give that a look at some point, but…well, now that you mention it, I’d do well to give Symphogear a chance. Even though I’ve never watched a single episode, but I wouldn’t mind diving in. It’s hard to say no to a show that features something called a “Megadeth Party”. Also, I’m assuming that there are henshins in the show, and that’s as much a key to my heart as…I don’t know, blueberry muffins.

    On an unrelated note, I’m tempted to try and find the craziest Arc-V clips I can on YouTube — by which I mean I’ve got a tab open just WAITING to be used for a search. And away I go!

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

