What I’m Watching: Spring 2016 Anime Season

What I'm Watching

Netoge no Yome Promo Art

Definite

Continuing

  • Dragon Ball Super
  • Yu-Gi-Oh! ARC-V

Adaptations of Stuff I Follow

  • Ace Attorney (Gyakuten Saiban)
  • Big Order
  • My Hero Academia
  • Twin Star Exorcists (Sōsei no Onmyōji)

Sequels

[nothing]

Maybe

High Chance

  • And You Thought There Is Never a Girl Online? (Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko Janai to Omotta?, lit. “I Thought My Online Game Wife Wasn’t A Girl?”)
  • Haven’t You Heard? I’m Sakamoto (Sakamoto desu ga?)

Medium Chance

  • Endride
  • Seisen Cerberus: Ryūkoku no Fatalités (lit. “Holy War Cerberus: Dragon-Slaying Fatalités”)

Low Chance

  • 12-sai. ~Chicchana Mune no Tokimeki~ (lit. “Age 12 ~A Little Heart-Pounding~”)
  • Flying Witch
  • Hundred

A pretty decent season after… last time. In regards to adaptations, I don’t hold high hopes for Big Order (which I only read for how bad it is). Twin Star Exorcists is adding an anime-original mascot character, which is not a good sign (there’s nowhere that character would make sense for, either).

The one I’m looking forward to the most has to be And You Thought There Is Never a Girl Online?, though that one will live or die by their handling of the female lead. I’m reminded of The Pet Girl of Sakurasou, which had a similarly potentially-problematic setting and turned out great.

12-sai. could be great or horrible. It, too, depends on how they treat the female lead. Treat the 12-year-old lead female with respect and the premise could end up with a great series. If it’s secretly a fanservice vehicle, they’re gonna have a bad time. Thankfully, the trailer points more toward the former.

Amusingly, Seisen Cerberus is getting my attention for one episode because the premise sounds too simple and that makes me suspicious.

I suppose the last one worth noting is Haven’t You Heard? I’m Sakamoto, which is giving me a lot of Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun flashbacks. That’s a good thing in my book.

One thought on “What I’m Watching: Spring 2016 Anime Season

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

