What I’m Watching: Summer 2016 Anime Season

What I'm Watching

Another anime season, another What I’m Watching. Now with a little extra!

DefiniteBijutsubu Promo Art

Continuing

  • Ace Attorney
  • Twin Star Exorcists
  • Yu-Gi-Oh! ARC-V

Adaptations of Stuff I Follow

  • Kono Bijutsubu ni wa Mondai ga Aru! (lit. “There’s a Problem with this Art Club”)
  • Tales of Zestiria the X

Sequels

  • Danganronpa 3: The End of Hope’s Peak Academy (Danganronpa 3: Ji Endo obu Kibōgamine Gakuen)
  • Love Live! Sunshine

Maybe

High Chance

  • Alderamin on the Sky (Nejimaki Seirei Senki: Tenkyō no Aruderamin, lit. “Wind-Up Spirit Chronicles: Alderamin on the Sky”)

Medium Chance

[nothing]

Low Chance

  • New Game!

There isn’t much in here for me to look forward to, I admit. Given how I wasn’t able to justify playing too much Tales of Zestiria (and it combined with Xillia 2 have kinda pushed me a bit away from the series), I may end up dropping Zestiria the X. On the other hand, I’ve been looking forward to Bijutsubu, as well as the finale to Danganronpa.

I need to see Love Live! Sunshine before I can decide whether the writers can keep me interested without μ’s. That said, I was shocked to hear that Funimation had streaming rights instead of Crunchyroll via NIS America. Similarly, I can’t tell whether New Game! will have substance or just be moeblobs the whole time.

Aleramin on the Sky simply had a mildly interesting concept I latched onto due to the relative lack of anything else of interest here.

We’ll see how things pan out, I suppose.


And now for a new feature! I have ranked the series I watched for their entire run for the duration of last season, based solely on their anime (and if I’ve read the source material, how well it was adapted).

Personal Spring 2016 Ranking

Age 12 - Another New Quote

  1. And you thought there is never a girl online?
  2. Age 12 ~A Little Heart-Pounding~
  3. My Hero Academia
  4. Yu-Gi-Oh! ARC-V
  5. Ace Attorney
  6. Twin Star Exorcists

Dropped: Dragon Ball Super, Haven’t You Heard? I’m Sakamoto


In the end, I was able to watch two episodes total of Sakamoto due to being distracted by other things. The segments were hit-or-miss for me, within those two episodes, but the ones that hit were good. I just didn’t have the time.

Age 12 was the surprise of the season. I was worried that it was gonna be fanservicey pandering, but it’s just a straight, clean romance with standard obstacles and its own little twists that made it fun to watch.

My Hero Academia was good, but a little too slow for my taste. Ace Attorney‘s budget clearly isn’t the best, has a few consistency issues (Fransizka’s age in episode 13 for example), and missed the point for some of the more iconic scenes in the series. Some of the changes were interesting, though.

Twin Star Exorcists could have been a straight adaptation that simply crams filler into the 2-year timeskip the manga graciously provided. Instead, it decided to switch a lot of stuff around and add a terrible, annoying mascot character nobody asked for.

Yu-Gi-Oh! ARC-V is doing well at recovering from the fatigued tournament that was the Synchro arc, but in doing so cut out most of its main cast. I’m kinda surprised that it’ll be over soon.

Feel free to comment, but be civil.

